Sunday, May 22, 2011

Review: Tiger's Curse by Colleen Houck

Title: Tiger's Curse, The Tiger Saga Book 1
Author: Colleen Houck
Published on January 11th, 2011
Published by Splinter
Format: E-book
Pages: 496
Source: Purchased


"Passion. Fate. Loyalty.

Would you risk it all to change your destiny?

The last thing Kelsey Hayes thought she'd be doing this summer was trying to break a 300-year old Indian curse. With a mysterious white tiger named Ren. Halfway around the world.

But that's exactly what happened.

Face-to-face with dark forces, spellbinding magic, and mystical worlds where nothing is what it seems, Kelsey risks everything to piece together an ancient prophecy that could break the curse forever.

Tiger's Curse is the exciting first volume in an epic fantasy-romance that will leave you breathless and yearning for more."

Review: 5 Stars

This book took me totally by surprise. I read it all in one day, as I couldn't manage to put it down. I initially purchased it because I loved the cover, but I am glad the book didn't just have a pretty cover, but also an excellent story.

I immensly enjoyed all that the characters had to offer. Kelsey Hayes, the main protag, is level headed and strong willed. She is unexpectedly taken on a magical journey into India to try and break a three hundred year old curse.

The main story revolves around Kelsey and her best friend, a white tiger named Ren. She has to piece together a prohpecy that could once and for all break the curse that causes to be a tiger. Kelsey must face many intense situations throughout the book, but Ren always remains by her side, helping her to overcome her obstacles.

Near the end, Ren's brother Kishan, is introduced into the story, as a possible love interest for Kelsey and a foe to Ren.

While it ends well, with no cliffhanger, I can't wait to see what Book 2 has to offer. I can't wait to continue on this wonderful journey that Colleen has created. Anyone who likes animals and magic will almost certainly enjoy this book.

Have you read Tiger's Curse yet? What did you think?

Jackie :)

Friday, February 4, 2011

Firelight by Sophie Jordan

Firelight by Sophie Jordan
Publication Date: September 7th, 2010
Published by HarperTeen
323 Pages, Hardcover
Source: Purchased

Summary from Goodreads:

"Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki—a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.

Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will's dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away—if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She'll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.

Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide.

My thoughts:

5+ Stars

I absolutely LOVED this book, and didn't want it to end. Sophie Jordan has a way with words, that they pick you up and put you right into the book with her characters. I found myself, repeatedly, jumping ahead to see what was going to happen( I don't reccommend this because then you get to a part and you're like... WHAT? and you have to back track because you missed something). I finally had to slow myself down so as not to miss anything.

Jacinda is considered very special by the draki, and has her entire life planned out for her. For the most part, she has no problem with this, but her mother does. When her mother packs her and her twin sister, Tamara, up and moves the family to Arizona, Jacinda's whole life gets flipped upside down. Her life changes dramatically and she learns that in the outside world away from other draki, things are very different.

She builds a friendship with Will, a draki hunter. As time draws on her feelings towards him change from friendship to something more, and while she is drawn to Will, she knows that she should be avoiding him at all cost. While at one point her life in Arizona was something she would give anything to escape,  and now she will do almost anything to keep things the way they are.

This book is action packed and will have you craving more as soon as the last page arrives. The chemistry between Jacinda and Will is electric and each meeting with them will have you cheering them on as a couple.

As a paranormal/fantasy fan I enjoyed this book immensly. Dragons in YA aren't as common as, oh say vampires and werewolves, so it was great to see something so different. A must read for all paranormal/fantasy fans!


Thursday, January 27, 2011

CSN Giveaway!

CSN has graciously offered to do a giveaway here on Like Mother, Like Daughter. For those of you who are unfamiliar, CSN has more than 200 stores in which you can find anything from modern office furniture, to kid toys, even shoes. You really can't go wrong.

So today, $25 is up for grabs to spend at any of the CSN stores.

Anyone in the US/Canada can enter(they only ship there). It will be open until Feb. 16th.

All you have to do to enter is fill out this form.

Extra entries for following and spreading the word, but being a follower is not mandatory.

Get entering and good luck!

Jackie:) & Sherry<3

Friday, January 21, 2011

The Iron Thorn by Caitlin Kittredge

The Iron Thorn by Caitlin Kittredge
Iron Codex #1
Publication Date: Feb. 22nd, 2011
Published By: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Hardcover, 512 Pages
Source: NYComicCon



"In the city of Lovecraft, the Proctors rule and a great Engine turns below the streets, grinding any resistance to their order to dust. The necrovirus is blamed for Lovecraft's epidemic of madness, for the strange and eldritch creatures that roam the streets after dark, and for everything that the city leaders deem Heretical—born of the belief in magic and witchcraft. And for Aoife Grayson, her time is growing shorter by the day.

Aoife Grayson's family is unique, in the worst way—every one of them, including her mother and her elder brother Conrad, has gone mad on their 16th birthday. And now, a ward of the state, and one of the only female students at the School of Engines, she is trying to pretend that her fate can be different."


4.5 Stars/5 Stars

The cover is the first thing that caught my attention. After reading the back description, I decided I definitely wanted to read this book. It took me a little while to get into the story, and I almost stopped reading it, but I'm glad I continued on. The slow beginning is the only reason why I took off half a star. After the story finally picks up there are a surprising amount of unexpected twists and turns that I did not anticipate from simply reading the back cover.

Aoife is a girl who lives in a world far different from ours. She has been told her entire life that there are night creatures outside of the city walls, and no one is allowed outside after dark. Both Aoife's mother and brother go mad from a disease known as the 'necrovirus' at the age of sixteen, and Aoife's sixteenth birthday is fast approaching. Sure that the same thing that happened to her mother and brother, will happen to her, and with a little push from her brother who sends her a letter to tell her to find the witch's alphabet and to save herself, she leaves the city. She goes on a journey with her best friend Cal, and meets Dean who becomes their guide. She explores a world she was always been told did not exist, and meets many new and interesting people along the way. She also discovers multiple family secrets.

This book leads you into a mystery for Aiofe and her friends, that I cannot go into, so as not to ruin this book for people who have yet to read it, but I will say it is very good!

I'm not sure whether this is a stand alone novel or if it will be part of a series, but if it is a stand alone, then it ends pleasantly, with no cliffhanger and left me, the reader, happy. If the author does continue, there are definitely questions left unanswered, and I will most certainly be following Aiofe's journey if it does happen to go on.

Jackie :)

Monday, November 1, 2010

Review: Virals by Kathy Reichs

Virals by Kathy Reichs
Publication Date November 2nd, 2010
Published by Razorbill Penguin
Hardcover, 464 Pages
Source: New York Comic Con, Penguin Publishing

Summary from Goodreads:

"Tory Brennan, niece of acclaimed forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan (of the Bones novels and hit TV show), is the leader of a ragtag band of teenage "sci-philes" who live on a secluded island off the coast of South Carolina. When the group rescues a dog caged for medical testing on a nearby island, they are exposed to an experimental strain of canine parvovirus that changes their lives forever.

As the friends discover their heightened senses and animal-quick reflexes, they must combine their scientific curiosity with their newfound physical gifts to solve a cold-case murder that has suddenly become very hot if they can stay alive long enough to catch the killer's scent.

Fortunately, they are now more than friends they're a pack. They are Virals."

Review: *****+ = 5+ Stars

This is the first book of this length that I have read in one day. Once I started reading, I couldn't put it down. I haven't read any of Kathy's previous books, but I will definitely be picking up her Bones series (the lead character in Virals is the niece of the lead character in that series).

Tory Brennan is the main character. She becomes the leader of a group of science geeks who accidentally stumble on to an experiment with parvo virus (a very deadly disease for puppies). Tory and her friends find some dog tags and on the way to clean them off rescue a wolf/puppy from the lab. They are then exposed to a new strain of the disease. Tory, Hi (Hiram), Ben and Shelton realize they have been infected. Soon they are all very sick, vomitting, dizzy, feverish and strange things begin happenning to them. Things start getting really interesting when  the dog tags they found lead them to a cold case murder.

This ties into the Bones series a lot, because Tory's Aunt Temperance uses science as well to solve crimes. Using the enhanced gifts that the parvo virus leaves them with, the team, also known as The Virals, works their way through the cold case, solving the crime.

I really loved each of the characters. They all brought something unique to the pack. This has become one of my all time favorite YA books and I look forward to Kathy's other books.

This comes out tomorrow and I definitely recommend it to everyone!

To learn more about Kathy, and her adult series, check out her webpage:

Jackie :)

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Lots of WiNnErS! :)

Hey everyone! We've got a bunch of winners to list today so check to see if you're one!!
(All winners were chosen randomly through

The winner of Book 1 and Book 2 of The Immortals Series by Tamora Pierce is.........

Alex(Tales of a Teenage Book Lover)

Congrats Alex, I'll be sending you an email shortly!

Now on to the winners from our 50 followers giveaway!

The winner of the plaque is...........

Chelle(email starting theprairie)

The first winner of their choice of any book from the book depository up to $10 is.............

Pagecrawler(email starting andy)

& the second winner of their choice of any book from the book depository up to $10 is..........

Chase(email starting hanjie)

Congrats everyone!

Expect an email from me soon, or shoot me one if you have my addy and see this before I send you one! =P

Once I do email you, you will have 48 hours to respond before a new winner is picked.

Congrats again to all the winners! I hope you enjoy your prizes!! :D

Jackie:) & Sherry<3

Monday, August 16, 2010

Thanks Everyone: A couple updates!!

Thanks so much to everyone who is now following us and has entered our 50 follower giveaway! We've reached 100 followers and we're adding another winner.

In addition to the plaque(US Only) there will now be TWO winners of your choice of book from the Book Depository up to $10. This is open to anywhere the Book Depository ships, so international.

Keep spreading the word ladies & gents, another winner for the book depository will be added if we hit 150 followers. Don't forget the giveaway ends August 27th so a little under two weeks left to go!

As a side note: While this blog was initially intended to be a combination of reviews from both my mother and I, we have decided it will still be our blog but the reviews will be mainly from her, unless it is a book we both read and we do a joint review. I'm having trouble keeping up on reviews for my own blog, and it seems silly to post the same reviews on both when I'm pretty sure most of the followers of this blog, follow my main blog as well.

I will continue to help her out as she is still very new to blogging, and to writing reviews. This is still a joint project!! :)

Thanks everyone!